FIFA confirm plans for 32-team Club World Cup in USA

- Advertisement -

FIFA announced on Friday that the inaugural edition of the new 32-team Club World Cup will take place in the United States in 2025. This decision was made by the FIFA Council, who unanimously selected the United States as the host country for the first tournament under the expanded format. 

It was previously confirmed in March that the revamped Club World Cup will be held every four years starting from June 2025.

In addition to co-hosting the 2026 World Cup with Mexico and Canada, the United States will also be hosting the 2024 Copa America.

- Advertisement -

“The FIFA Club World Cup 2025 will be the pinnacle of elite professional men’s club football,” FIFA President Gianni Infantino said.

“With the required infrastructure in place together with a massive local interest, the United States is the ideal host to kick off this new, global tournament.”

From 2021 to 2024, the winners of the Confederation championships will have the opportunity to participate in the newly established Club World Cup. This means that Chelsea, Real Madrid, and Manchester City, who won the Champions League last season, have qualified from Europe. 

The current edition of the FIFA Club World Cup, which features seven teams and takes place annually, will be discontinued after 2023.

FIFA has also decided to delay the initiation of the bidding process for the 2030 World Cup in order to engage in further discussions with all important parties involved.

“The relevant bidding regulations will be presented for approval at the next FIFA Council meeting, due to take place in September/October 2023, with the bidding process to be officially launched thereafter,” it said.

“The expected appointment of the host(s) by the FIFA Congress will also move from Q3 2024 to Q4 2024.”

The FIFA Congress is scheduled to occur in Bangkok, Thailand on May 17, 2024. Additionally, FIFA has chosen Indonesia as the host for the Under-17 World Cup later this year. 

This decision comes after Indonesia was previously stripped of hosting the Under-20 World Cup, which was instead held in Argentina. The reason for Indonesia losing the hosting rights was due to their football federation canceling the draw, as the governor of Bali, a predominantly Hindu island, declined to host Israel’s team.

Indonesia has been chosen to host the tournament from November 10 to December 2, as Peru lost the rights due to not meeting infrastructure requirements. 

Additionally, Colombia has been selected to host the Under-20 women’s World Cup in 2024, and the Dominican Republic will host the Under-17 women’s World Cup in the same year.

READ ALSO: Faruk Hadzibegic resigns as Bonia And Herzegovina head coach

- Advertisement -

Related articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share article

Latest articles