PFA Award Winners to Be Revealed in August Ceremony: Haaland Favored for Double Triumph

Published on:

Erling Haaland stands out among the nominees for the 2022-23 Professional Footballers’ Association (PFA) Players’ Player of the Year award (PFA Awards).

Haaland’s inaugural season in the English Premier League was nothing short of extraordinary, as he netted an impressive 36 goals in 35 appearances for Manchester City. His exceptional performance played a significant role in Manchester City’s triumphant season, securing the Premier League, FA Cup, and Champions League titles

Haaland is not the only Manchester City player on the shortlist. Teammates Kevin De Bruyne and John Stones also made the list. De Bruyne was the Premier League’s top assist-maker last season with 16 assists. John Stones was a crucial part of Manchester City’s defense and played a pivotal role after being shifted into a midfield position.

Joining the Manchester City trio on the shortlist are Arsenal’s Martin Odegaard and Bukayo Saka, as well as former Tottenham Hotspur striker Harry Kane, who recently moved to Bayern Munich. Odegaard and Saka were standout performers for Arsenal, with Odegaard contributing 15 goals and 7 assists, while Saka enjoyed his best season so far with 14 goals and 11 assists.

In addition to being nominated for the Players’ Player of the Year award, Haaland and Saka are also contenders for the Young Player of the Year award. They are joined by Arsenal’s Gabriel Martinelli, Chelsea’s Moises Caicedo, Brighton’s Evan Ferguson, and Aston Villa’s Jacob Ramsey.

The awards winners will be announced in a ceremony on August 29th. Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah won the men’s PFA Players’ Player of the Year award last season. Haaland’s exceptional debut season in the Premier League and his role in Manchester City’s treble success make him a strong favorite to take home both the Players’ Player of the Year and the Young Player of the Year awards.

PFA men’s Players’ Player of the Year shortlist 2022-23

  • Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)
  • Erling Haaland (Manchester City)
  • Harry Kane (Formerly Tottenham Hotspur, now Bayern Munich)
  • Martin Odegaard (Arsenal)
  • Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)
  • John Stones (Manchester City)

PFA Men’s Young Player of the Year shortlist 2022-23

  • Moises Caicedo (Formerly Brighton, now Chelsea)
  • Evan Ferguson (Brighton)
  • Erling Haaland (Manchester City)
  • Gabriel Martinelli (Arsenal)
  • Jacob Ramsey (Aston Villa)
  • Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)

READ ALSO: Latest Chelsea News: Reece James and Trevoh Chalobah Struck by Hamstring Injuries in Training


Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here