PFA Awards 2023 Winners: Full List

Published on:

The PFA Awards 2023 were a grand celebration of football’s finest talents, where stars illuminated the stage with their exceptional achievements. This event marked the 50th anniversary of the Professional Footballers’ Association, shining a spotlight on the players who have left an indelible mark on the beautiful game.

  • Erling Haaland managed to win the PFA player of the year after his first season.
  • Bukayo Saka managed to secure the young player of the year award.
  • The PFA men’s team of the year was mainly made up of Arsenal and Man. City players except two.

PFA Awards 2023 Player of the Year

Erling Haaland, the force behind Manchester City’s phenomenal season, emerged as the Premier League’s standout player. With a staggering 52 goals across various competitions, Haaland propelled City to an unprecedented treble, clinching the Premier League, FA Cup, and Champions League. His triumph outshone even the likes of Kevin De Bruyne and John Stones, as well as rising star Bukayo Saka from Arsenal.

PFA young Player of the Year

Bukayo Saka, the young prodigy from Arsenal, claimed the coveted Young Player prize. Saka’s breakout season saw him shine with 14 goals and 11 assists for the Gunners. His exceptional form extended to the international arena, where he became a standout performer for England during the World Cup in Qatar.

PFA Awards 2023
PFA Awards 2023 Winners: Bukayo Saka was awarded the young player of the year

PFA Women Winners

The accolades extended to the Lionesses. Rachel Daly, a star at Aston Villa, earned the Women’s Player of the Year title. Her remarkable 22 goals in the Women’s Super League showcased her prowess. Lauren James, a key figure for Chelsea, secured the Women’s Young Player of the Year award. Their stellar contributions fueled England’s journey to the World Cup final.

PFA merit Awards

The PFA Merit awards honored legends of the game. Ian Wright, a former Arsenal luminary, received the men’s award, acknowledging his monumental impact on football. Jill Scott, with an illustrious career spanning 161 caps for England, was bestowed the women’s Merit award after her retirement post England’s Euro victory.

PFA Fans Player of the year

Manchester United’s Marcus Rashford was able to swoop the fans player of the year award. The England international had a fantastic season last year under Ten Hag’s first tenure.

PFA Awards 2023 Winners: Full List
PFA Awards 2023 Winners: Rashford was awarded the fans player of the year award

PFA lower league award winners

The awards transcended the elite leagues, acknowledging talents across tiers. Chuba Akpom’s 28-goal feat for Middlesbrough earned him the Championship Player of the Year honor. Conor Chaplin, with 26 goals propelling Ipswich’s rise, claimed the League One Player of the Year accolade. League Two’s Players’ Player of the Year award went to Bradford’s Andy Cook.

PFA Award 2023 Men’s Team of the year

Goalkeeper: Aaron Ramsdale

Defenders: Kieran Trippier, Ruben Dias, John Stones, William Saliba

Midfielders: Rodri, Kevin De Bruyne, Martin Odegaard

Forwards: Bukayo Saka, Erling Haaland, Harry Kane

PFA Women’s team of the year

Mary Earps; Ona Batlle, Maya Le Tissier, Alex Greenwood, Rafaelle Souza; Reiten, Frida Maanum, Yui Hasegawa; Rachel Daly, Bunny Shaw, Sam Kerr

READ ALSO: REREF president Luis Rubiales could face a 15-year ban from FIFA following kissing incident


Leave a Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here